RSS

Familiar company

03 Apr

We are regular partners in our endeavour.

She is beside me on the treadmill most evenings.  My elevated hill climb lifts me even taller than her diminutive frame.  I am aware of her pounding out the miles, aware of her muscles and sinews straining, her heart beating fast, a slight flush rising in her face, a sheen of perspiration covering her pale skin. I can sense her raised pulse, her controlled breathing, even feel the slight tug in her left hamstring.

I can hear the music filling her ears, can see the digital screen in front of her recording her performance.  I can feel her weariness and pleasure as she closes on her target.

Her face is full of concentration.  Her hair is tied back tightly.  It fell loose once and cascaded in an unexpected blonde waterfall onto her shoulders. For the first time I realised just how beautiful she is.

In all these months and weeks we have never really acknowledged each other’s presence.

Yet we are grateful for familiar company.

.

.

© the author writing as Romantic Dominant

Photograph taken from the internet without source. If it belongs to you please let me know.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on April 3, 2012 in Still Life

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Familiar company

  1. Sofia

    April 5, 2012 at 6:21 pm

    Ha now I find myself to go to the gym. 😉

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      April 6, 2012 at 11:25 am

      Oh lucky gym to have your lovely form within it

      Like

       
      • Sofia

        April 13, 2012 at 1:45 am

        Wow I totally butchered that comment. *blush* That will teach me to multitask while I am outside.
        Thank you for the nice compliment. 🙂
        xx

        Like

         

Leave a Reply

 
