RSS

Following the river

30 Mar

It has been a long, dark night.  It has ended.

With a brave sun glinting on the water and a gentle breeze stroking the daffodils, I pack my things.  A notebook of spidery poems.  A much fingered rosary of memories.  A green acorn brimming with life.  A black and white photograph of a smile.  A hatful of songs. The key to a heart. A blindfold and a rope. A loaf of crusty new bread, A hunk of sweet mountain cheese. A bottle of companionable red wine.

The air is fragrant with promise. There are new words hidden in the tightly folded new buds. .  The strings of my guitar are humming beneath my fingers.  The day is rich with chance.

I am following the river.

.

.

© the author writing as Romantic Dominant

Photo found on the internet without source. If yours, please let me know.

 
32 Comments

Posted by on March 30, 2012 in Still Life

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

32 responses to “Following the river

  1. Evelyn

    March 30, 2012 at 12:17 pm

    So beautiful.
    want to live inside your words…
    “I pack my things. A notebook of spidery poems. A much fingered rosary of memories. A green acorn brimming with life.”
    sighs, longing filled, promise filled, wooed sighs…

    Like

     
  2. Elizabeth

    March 30, 2012 at 2:27 pm

    The journey begins.

    Like

     
  3. yorksrose

    March 31, 2012 at 3:08 pm

    Glad to see you didn’t fade away completely. Love that you say so much, in so few words.

    Like

     
  4. Janette Monea Ayub

    March 31, 2012 at 4:20 pm

    Picture perfect. Following the river to another story.
    Dear friend, I love the different worlds you have (via wordpress :] )

    Like

     
  5. Miss Anne

    April 1, 2012 at 4:44 am

    I love the Rivers. I live near the Mississippi and The Missouri.

    Like

     
  6. Sofia

    April 1, 2012 at 11:19 am

    Thank you for telling me about your new place…
    Glad to see you.
    xo
    ~S

    Like

     
  7. D.

    April 1, 2012 at 11:20 am

    I like this very much. More, please.

    Like

     
  8. redheadedsub

    April 1, 2012 at 11:13 pm

    “The day is rich with chance”…perfect sentiment, Sir. I look forward to reading more of your words, as I always do.

    Like

     
  9. deelaytful

    April 10, 2012 at 6:28 pm

    beautiful. i felt drawn by the poetry of your prose.

    Like

     
  10. eroticexploration

    April 22, 2012 at 5:19 pm

    Absolutely beautiful; you tugged at my heart today…

    Like

     
  11. emmylgant

    December 6, 2012 at 8:12 am

    Smiles

    Like

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      December 6, 2012 at 8:21 pm

      Surprised (and pleased) to see your smile on such an early post.

      Like

       
      • emmylgant

        December 6, 2012 at 9:24 pm

        Why is it a surprise? Should I limit my reading to your later posts? I enjoyed the flow and rhythm of this piece. “Tourner la page” and taking off in a new direction is something with which I am familiar.
        I enjoyed the visuals conveyed. Poetic.

        Like

         
        • Romantic Dominant

          December 6, 2012 at 10:12 pm

          Thank you for reading this old piece. I have turned many pages. Sadly the book remains the same.

          Like

           
          • emmylgant

            December 6, 2012 at 10:21 pm

            It is a beautiful piece. As for the book staying the same, yes, I know that too. I move about and start over only to find the same old self. It is discouraging. Where is your fine wine tonight kind sir? I could use a mellow taste and Jesse Cook’s guitar. Smile

            Like

             
            • Romantic Dominant

              December 6, 2012 at 10:29 pm

              The wine has been drunk – sadly not so fine, a serviceable Shiraz – and a week that has seen small triumphs and inevitable failures has left me tired to the bone with still another challenging day to face. With the wind prowling around the house and make the newly naked trees creak, I must bid you goodnight. Not even time for a flamenco lullaby. Sleep well.

              Like

               
  12. sweetcreature

    February 9, 2016 at 11:34 am

    Missing your wonderful words, as this first for the new notebook…
    I follow your river…

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
