RSS

Wanting

18 Nov

I want you.

Not for your beauty.  Time has passed.  Your image has faded. And I’m not sure if you were ever really beautiful.  Or whether it was my love that made you so.

Not for your body.  It has become far too common a currency since it belonged to me.  I do not desire that which is not exclusive.

Not for your intelligence. Your knowledge and creativity were always too narrow for compelling conversation.

I want you.

But only because I cannot have you.

.

.

Painting by Fabian Perez

 

 
43 Comments

Posted by on November 18, 2012 in Lovers Past

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

43 responses to “Wanting

  1. surrenderedone

    November 18, 2012 at 1:47 pm

    Ah yes……what is it about that (or she/she) who is intriguing and captivating and out of our reach for whatever reason that makes us want them so badly?

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      November 18, 2012 at 2:03 pm

      If only I knew. Then I would not be so illogical as to want.
      Smiles

       
  2. Joseph McNamara

    November 18, 2012 at 2:15 pm

    The wanting that drives our desire and the forbidden that compels us to need…… Powerful words

     
  3. Shoujiki Jester

    November 18, 2012 at 4:42 pm

    I truly adore the power such a word as ‘but’.

     
  4. Jennywren2

    November 18, 2012 at 4:44 pm

    The late Sophia Loren put it best “Sex appeal is fifty percent what you’ve got and fifty percent what people think you’ve got.” I’m not beautiful but men perceive me as such as I have learned to carry myself with an air of grace and sophistication… tears have flowed from these eyes opening my soul to the world…

    Describing the power of attraction with such an exquisite choice of words… Thank you again Jenny

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      November 18, 2012 at 5:02 pm

      A woman who understands such things is more than half way to beauty

       
  5. jennywren2

    November 18, 2012 at 6:31 pm

    Beauty is in the eyes it’s not something physical… perhaps what draws isn’t her at all but you were… perchance a memory of a less faded version of self is the attraction?

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      November 18, 2012 at 8:47 pm

      Perhaps. To be loved as I was then

       
      • jennywren2

        November 18, 2012 at 11:05 pm

        Isn’t that what we all want to be reminded of the beauty of our youth or at least younger rose tinted versions of self… I would want to disassociate with the current me who has had a world opened to her… I’m only 33… I would not want to be 18 again listening to Greig but the memory of admiring my flawless alabaster skin and lean lithe naked body (I was born out of my time) in my bedroom mirror I will hold dear… Obideiently his… Jenny

         
  6. ktz2

    November 18, 2012 at 7:12 pm

    ‘Yes you can’, I said. . . hahahaha

     
  7. Maggie Carpenter

    November 19, 2012 at 3:56 am

    Funny thing, but I have never felt the desire to be with another, who did not want to be with me, though it is human nature to wish for the apparently unattainable.

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      November 19, 2012 at 10:11 pm

      And my desire is not a serious one. A whim, a moment of weakness captured like a candid photograph in my blog.

       
  8. pivoine68

    November 19, 2012 at 12:24 pm

    I’m always wanting things I can’t have too.

    Bisous,
    Dawn

     
  9. Frances antoinette

    November 19, 2012 at 7:36 pm

    The longing of this poem is characteristic. Pablo Neruda wrote once that all poets do is long for something.

     
  10. Evelyn

    November 19, 2012 at 8:15 pm

    be careful what you wish for, young man…

     
  11. ktz2

    November 23, 2012 at 9:29 pm

    I appreciate the ‘thumbs-up’ for my early effort ‘On the Wall.’. Unfortunately, only a
    fantasy meeting with First and Best Dom. .online-only, his decision. I begged to meet, without success. . he lives in my town too, which made it even more frustrating. ‘Something so close can be so far out of reach.’ He is still missed !

    I reblogged ‘on sexual submission’, reaching more readers..

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      November 23, 2012 at 10:51 pm

      Strange that he should not wish to meet. Online D/s is a pale shadow. I would have thought any Dom would want the real thing.

      Thank you for the re-blog. An honour.

       
      • ktz2

        November 23, 2012 at 11:55 pm

        He was an excellent Dom for the limitations, and exactly what I needed as a new sub. He knew just what to say and do, how and when. He did want to meet, but he had what I call ‘the Catholic guilt’ that eventually won out against his desire and need. A shame. . .
        When he said {on the phone} -’you are Mine. MINE!’ –I had such a physical reaction, like ‘the butterflies’, amped up about 20x . I thought I would faint–very intense. I imagine you’ve seen a similar reaction in your lucky subs.

         
  12. Heartafire

    November 26, 2012 at 4:30 pm

    Love this piece…may I reblog it?
    Heart

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      November 26, 2012 at 4:35 pm

      Smiles. I am always delighted. As long as it is credited, you don’t have to ask. Breathtaking new gravatar photo, by the way.

       
  13. Heartafire

    November 26, 2012 at 4:42 pm

    Reblogged this on House of Heart.

     
  14. filledandfooled

    December 19, 2012 at 1:37 am

    Sigh….so hard to find words in the presence if such a Master.

     
  15. coastalmom

    January 26, 2013 at 2:55 pm

    Wow wow wow wow! This so resonates! I wonder how many you have touched by this? As I write this, I look and wonder why I have not clicked follow yet!?

     
    • Romantic Dominant

      January 26, 2013 at 4:08 pm

      Thank you. And for following. I hope my words do not shock or embarrass or make you sad

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 9,327 other followers

